Fact checked for accuracy by Billie Anne Grigg, a bookkeeper and Mastery Level Certified Profit First Professional.
Every year, each Limited Liability Company, or LLC, is required to file an annual report.
Here you will learn what an annual report is, your state’s requirements, and how to file it if necessary.
What Is an Annual Report?
An annual report ensures your LLC is compliant with the current laws and in good standing. Some states require biannual, two years, or even decennial reports. Others require them every year.
In other words, you have to renew your business when your state mandates it. Failure to do so could result in the dissolving of your LLC.
The Purpose of Filing an Annual Report
As mentioned above, filing an annual report gives information to your current jurisdiction about your company’s structure – like the names of registered agents, members, directors, or other officers you have. Filing on an annual basis ensures this information is accurate and consistently updated.
Annual Report Filing Fees and Due Date
The due date of your annual report can depend on which state you live in – for instance, Arkansas’ due date is May 1 while Georgia’s is April 1. Some states also have varying due dates as Kansas keeps its due date for these reports on the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year has ended.
The filing fees are also state-dependent. California’s fees are only $20, but they request biannual reports. Delaware’s fees, however, can total around $300, and North Carolina’s is about $200. You can check the chart below for state-specific information regarding due dates and filing fees. It’s also worth noting that the annual report filing fees are sometimes separate from the LLC renewal fees. For example, California only charges $20 for the biennial reports, but there is an additional $800 per year to renew the LLC.
What Happens if You Don’t File an Annual Report For Your LLC?
If you live in a state that requires an annual report and you don’t submit, there are a couple of consequences – the jurisdiction may take away your LLC’s good standing and place you in a forfeited status. To get back into good standing, you’ll need to submit the past-due annual report as well as any late fees that your state asks of you.
However, there may also be reinstatement fees to get back into good standing – and some states, like Utah, may force you to completely re-qualify your business.
State-by-State Annual Report Requirements
The following are the annual report requirements for every U.S. state.
|Alabama||Annual Report Required; $100 per year. The deadline is dependent on the date of creation of the LLC.||https://www.sos.alabama.gov/|
|Alaska||Biannual Report Required; $100 per year. The deadline is January 2 of the year you are set to renew. If you started your LLC in an even-numbered year, you pay in even-numbered years. If you began in an odd-numbered year, you pay in odd-numbered years.||https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/corporations.aspx|
|Arizona||No annual report is required.||https://www.azcc.gov/|
|Arkansas||Annual Franchise Tax Report required; $150 fee plus $5 fee to file online. Due May 1 of each year is the deadline.||https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs|
|California||Biannual Report Required; $20. The biannual report is due by the last day of the LLCs anniversary month. If you created your business in November, you would then file every other November by the 30th.||https://www.sos.ca.gov/business-programs|
|Colorado||Periodic Report Required; $10. Colorado requires LLCs to have the periodic report filed by the end of the month of initial registration. It is due annually, though it is not called an annual report.||https://www.coloradosos.gov/|
|Connecticut||Annual Report Required; $80. The annual report is due each year by March 31.||https://portal.ct.gov/sots|
|Delaware||Alternative Entity Tax Required; $300. The alternative entity tax is due each year by June 1. Each LLC is required to report for the first time in the calendar year following your initial registration.||https://corp.delaware.gov/|
|District of Columbia||Two-Year Report Required; $300. If delivering in person, an additional $100 expedite fee is required. LLCs are required to report by April 1 biannually. After registration, an LLC must pay by April 1 of the next calendar year. After the first year, it becomes a biannual report.||https://dcra.dc.gov/page/corporations|
|Florida||Annual Registration Required ; $138.75. Each LLC must report annually by May 1.||https://dos.myflorida.com/sunbiz/|
|Georgia||Annual Registration Required; $50. An LLC has to file each year by April 1.||https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/corporations|
|Hawaii||Annual Report Required; $15. Hawaii has quarterly due dates on March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31. The LLC must file by the due date in the quarter in which they registered. For example, if you register on August 10, you must pay in the quarter that ends on September 30 each year.||http://cca.hawaii.gov/breg/|
|Idaho||Annual Report Required; $0. The LLC must report by the last day of the month of registration. If you registered on October 15, you must report each year by October 31 annually.||https://sos.idaho.gov/|
|Illinois||Annual Reporting Required; $75. Online filing has an extra $50 expediting fee attached. The report is due by the last day of the month preceding the anniversary month of the LLC. For example, an LLC created on June 5 must report annually by May 31.||https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/business_services/home.html|
|Indiana||Business Entity Report Required; $32 online or $50 by mail. Indiana requires LLCs to report biannually by the end of the month of registration. If you incorporated January 20, you must report by January 31 biannually.||https://www.in.gov/sos/business/|
|Iowa||Biennial Report Required|
$45 online $60 by mail
Iowa requires LLCs to report by April 1 of odd-numbered years.
|Kansas||Annual Report Required; $50 online $55 through mail. The report must be filed by the 15th day of the fourth month of the fiscal year. This is generally April 15 in almost all cases. The first payment is due the calendar year following registration.||https://sos.ks.gov/|
|Kentucky||Annual Report Required; $15. It is due annually by June 30.||https://www.sos.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx|
|Louisiana||Annual Report Required; $30 plus $5 if paying by card. The report is due by the anniversary date of the LLC’s creation. If you filed February 1, then your report is due each year by February 1.||https://www.sos.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx|
|Maine||Annual Report Required; $85. Each LLC must file by June 1 each year.||https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/corp/index.html|
|Maryland||Annual Report Required; $300 plus $5 fee for credit card payment. This is due annually and must be postmarked by April 15.||https://dat.maryland.gov/Pages/default.aspx|
|Massachusetts||Annual Report Required; $520 online or faxed$500 by mail. The LLC must file by the anniversary of the date of formation each year.||https://www.sec.state.ma.us/cor/coridx.htm|
|Michigan||Annual Report Required; $25. LLCs must report annually by February 15. If the LLC forms after September 30, the first year is skipped.||https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_61343_35413—,00.html|
|Minnesota||Annual Renewal Required; $0 fee $20 in person filing fee if filing in person. The annual renewal must be completed by December 31.||https://www.sos.state.mn.us/|
|Mississippi||Annual Report Required; $0. All LLCs must file annually by April 15.||https://www.sos.ms.gov/|
|Missouri||No annual registration report required.||https://www.sos.mo.gov/business/corporations/|
|Montana||Annual Report Required; $20. Must be filed annually by April 15.||https://sosmt.gov/business/|
|Nebraska||Biennial Occupation Tax Report Required; $10 plus $3 fee if paying by credit card. All LLCs must file by April 1 of odd-numbered years.||https://sos.nebraska.gov/business-services/business-services-division|
|Nevada||Annual List of Managers or Members Required; $150 plus $200 state business license fee. The list must be reported by the end of the anniversary month of registration.||https://www.nvsos.gov/sos/home|
|New Hampshire||Annual Report Required; $100 plus $2 fee for online filing. The report must be filed each year by April 1.||https://sos.nh.gov/corporation-ucc-securities/corporation/corporation-ucc-and-securities/|
|New Jersey||Annual Report Required; $75 plus $3 credit card fee. The report is due by the end of the anniversary month of registration.||https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/|
|New Mexico||No annual report required.||https://www.sos.state.nm.us/business-services/|
|New York||Biennial Statement Required; $9. This statement is due at the end of the anniversary month of the LLCs registration. If you registered on August 5, your report will be due by August 31 every two years.|
|North Carolina||Annual Report Required; $202 online or $200 through mail. This report is due annually on April 15. Your first report is due in the calendar year that follows initial registration of the LLC.|
|North Dakota||Annual Report Required; $50. Each LLC must report annually by November 15.|
|Ohio||No annual report required.|
|Oklahoma||Annual Certificate; $25. The report is due each year by the anniversary of the registration date.|
|Oregon||Annual Report Required; $100. Due each year on the anniversary of your registration date.|
|Pennsylvania||Decennial Report Required; $70. These reports are due every ten years during years that end with a 1. For instance, they are due in 2021, 2031, 2041, etc. The report must be filed by December 31 of report years.|
|Rhode Island||Annual Report Required; $50. LLCs must report each year by November 1.|
|South Carolina||No annual report required. If an LLC has elect S-corp taxation, they must file SC 1120S each year with the revenue department in South Carolina.|
|South Dakota||Annual Report Required ; $65 for mail in $50 for online. LLCs must report by the first day of the month of registration anniversary month.|
|Tennessee||Annual Report Required; $300 minimum. The fee is $50 per member with a max of $3,000. There is an $8 credit card fee for every $300. Reports are due by the first day of the fourth month after you close your fiscal year. For many people this falls on April 1.|
|Texas||Public Information Report Required; $0. By May 15 each year, LLCs have to file. You begin filing in the year following your inception. If you established your LLC in March of 2021, your report would be due May 15, 2022.|
|Utah||Annual Renewal Required; $20. Due annually by the end of the month of initial registration. If you registered your LLC on November 10, then your filing is due each year by November 30.|
|Vermont||Annual Report Required; $35. This is due each year within three months after the end of your fiscal year. This is typically March 31 as most people consider December 31 as the end of the fiscal year.|
|Virginia||Annual Registration Required; $50. LLCs must file annually by the end of the registration anniversary month.|
|Washington||Annual Report Required; $60. Due each year by the end of the month that the LLC incorporated in.|
|West Virginia||Annual Report Required; $25. Due each year by July 1.|
|Wisconsin||Annual Report Required; $25. This is due each year by the end of the registration anniversary quarter. If the LLC incorporated on January 15, then the annual report is due each year by the end of March. There are four due dates, depending on the quarter you are in. Due dates are March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31.|
|Wyoming||Annual Report Required; $50 for businesses with less than $250,000 in Wyoming assets. Other conversions exist, so be sure to check and see where your LLC falls. Due each year by the first day of the registration anniversary month.|
Being a U.S. territory, Puerto Rico also has LLC filing rules. An LLC must file by April 15 and it costs $150.
How to File and Pay Your Annual Report
If you would like to have someone file your report for you, services are available online. Head over to our LLC services guide for our recommendations. Most states offer online and mail-in payment. Others offer only online payment. In some places, reporting online will cost a little extra.
Follow the links in the table to get to the right website that you need. Follow the prompts on the website to get to the online renewal page. After that, as long as there are no hiccups in the process, reporting your LLC is done!
The main thing to remember here is how much it will cost and when it is due for your specific state. Besides those specifics, it is fairly easy to do and will not take up much of your time.
Filed under: Advice Columns